Wine Braised Beef Cheeks, Duck Fat Roasted Potatoes and Creamed Spinach

These were three different recipes that I’ve been meaning to try that I thought would work well together. The beef cheek recipe – which I have actually tried before – is from Gabriel Rucker’s Le Pigeon cookbook. The cheeks are braised in beef stock, mirepoix and an entire bottle of wine for 12 hours at 200°F. The potatoes recipe is from Serious Eats. The spinach recipe is my mother’s – which she cribbed from Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse.

Unfortunately, the beef cheeks were inedible. Not sure why, but it may have to do with how they were cut when I got them at the carniceria down the street. They were the only place I could find them – but they were frozen in a giant block of ice. So the butcher just cut me on a cube using a bandsaw.

• • • • • • • • • •

This seemed like the perfect meal for a bottle of Oregon Native – a collaboration between Upright Brewing and Patton Valley Vineyard.

