Tandoori Fried Chicken, Saag Paneer Mac and Indian Slaw

This was pretty much a total disaster…

On a recent trip to Atlanta, I discovered Tandoori Fried Chicken at a restaurant called Botiwalla. I knew I was going to have to try to figure out how to make it.

I marinated the chicken using the same marinade that I use for my Tandoori Lobster (which was originally a chicken recipe in the first place). I then followed Alton Brown’s Fried Chicken recipe for the cooking process.

As to what to serve with the chicken… I did a bit of research to find two more recipes where Southern cuisine had been re-routed thru South India: Saag Paneer Mac and Indian Slaw.

But things didn’t go as planned… The Saag Paneer Mac recipe is very poorly written. Things like, you know, measurements or the size of pan to use are pretty much non-existent. The Indian Slaw recipe was pretty straight forward, but I had forgotten one key ingredient: the Serrano chili. These two came out edible – although not very exciting. The chicken, on the other hand, did not.

I’m guessing it was the yogurt marinade. First, I did not have time to marinate the chicken the minimum 8 hours. But, since I did not completely remove the marinade off of the chicken before dredging in the flour – it started to burn almost immediately upon hitting the grease. I then put the chicken in a roasting pan and moved to the oven. Well, at this point the Saag Paneer Mac was getting cold and the chicken was not getting above an internal temperature of 180° – so I turned the oven to broil… The chicken, which was already burned on one side, now was completely black. It went straight in the trash.

• • • • • • • • • •

I decided to go with a bottle of The Conversion from Logsdon Farmhouse Ales – which exploded and went all over the already destroyed kitchen… Not a good night.

