Collard Greens Soup

This is one on my mother’s recipes… And growing up, my sister and I hated it. But for some reason I’ve been craving it something fierce.

The last time I remember eating this, was in junior high. The power was out due to a snow storm and we were gathered around the fireplace playing Monopoly (which I have not played again since that time). I don’t recall how my mother heated it up, but it’s just one of those memories filed way back in the memory banks – eating soup, wrapped up in a blanked next to the fire.

Fast forward thirty-some-odd years later… The forecast said that we were going to have a snow storm this weekend – and I knew what I had to make.

• • • • • • • • • •

I picked up the latest iteration of Bourbon Little Brother from The Commons while I was shopping.

