Merguez Sausage with Black Olive Mayo, Harrisa Carrot Slaw and Feta, Grilled Artichokes

This is something I’ve been meaning to try for a while. It’s basically a recreation of the Scott Snyder‘s “Chefwich” sandwich that was available all too briefly at Lardo. The original version had a ‘Moroccan lamb meatball’ – which I substituted with merguez sausage and topped with black olive mayoharrisa carrot slaw and feta.

I was trying to come up with what to serve with this, and then I remembered the cover of this month’s Saveur: Grilled Artichokes with Piment d’Espelette Aioli from Ox. I subbed out the Espelette with Aleppo pepper mainly because I have a lot of it.

• • • • • • • • • •

Instead of garnishing the artichokes with edible flowers, I decided to pair it with a beer made with flowers. I went with last year’s bottling of the Flora Rustica – a farmhouse ale brewed with calendula flowers and spring yarrow – from Upright.

