Japanese Style Oysters, Bacon Wrapped Asparagus Yakitori, Spinach Gomaae

Where to begin?

Back in late October, we went down to Brookings for my mother-in-law’s birthday. She really wanted raw oysters. But everywhere we went only had fried oysters. So, I figured I’d learn how to shuck oysters for our trip next year.

But even though I grew up in New Orleans, I never really liked oysters. That is, until I took a friend to a local sushi place called Ichidai. I really like the preparation. So, I did some research and found this recipe.

The Spinach Gomaae is something that we usually order at Ichidai as well. The Bacon Wrapped Asparagus Yakitori is a dish that we used to order at Ru San’s when we lived in Atlanta…

• • • • • • • • • •

The only thing I could think of to go with this meal is a bottle of the Amarillo Hose
from De Garde.

