Cider Brined Pork Loin Stuffed with Curried Fennel, Squash & Pistachios, Green Bean Casserole

For Thanksgiving, I decided to attempt a recipe that I’ve been wanting to try: Cider Brined Pork Loin Stuffed with Curried Fennel, Squash and Pistachio. Instead of using Calvados, I rode my bike over to Clear Creek Distillery and picked up a 50 ml bottle of their Eau de Vie de Pomme, Barrel Aged 8 years. My sister-in-law brought the Green Bean Casserole and rolls from little t. For dessert, my wife made Pecan Pie Cheesecake.

• • • • • • • • • •

To go with the meal, I busted out all of the cider that we had picked up on our trip to the Olympic Peninsula – Boot Brawl and Rhubarb Cider from Eaglemont Wine & Cider, Calypso (aged in Rum barrels with blackberries) and Spark! Semi-Sweet from Alpenfire Cider, and Fire Barrel (aged in Bourbon barrels) from Finnriver Farm & Cidery – as well as some recent finds – 1763 from Cider Riot!, Beermongers Birthday (Lorrie’s Gold aged in a Elijah Craig 12-year Bourbon barrel) from Reverend Nat’s Hard Cider, Bourbon Barrel from Traditions Ciderworks and Cidermaker’s Reserve from Tieton Cider Works.

