Beef Cheeks Bourguignon and a Salad

I’d been sitting on a bottle of Block 15‘s The Demon’s Farm for a while now and had been trying to come up with something to cook to go with it. Then one day when I was at Chop, I saw that they carried beef cheeks. I had only recently received a copy of the cookbook from Le Pigeon, and realized that they would be a perfect match. I did tweak the recipe a hair by using rainbow carrots and cipollini onions. Since the dish is a tad bit labor intensive (a three page recipe that takes over 12 hours to prepare) and very rich, I decided to serve it with a simple salad of mixed greens.

• • • • • • • • • •

Unlike like last week, I knew exactly what beer to have with this dish: A 2012 bottle of Block 15‘s The Demon’s Farm – a dark ale aged 40% in bourbon barrels and 60% pinot noir barrels with cherries.

