Roast Beef, Rice and Gravy with Sautéed Spinach

If I had to pick a “Last Meal”, this would probably be it. I don’t know what it is about it, but I love rice and gravy.

I don’t really have a recipe for this… I start by roasting two heads of garlic in a small tangine, using bacon fat instead of olive oil – one head for the gravy, the other for the spinach (see below). I use the tops of the heads of garlic that were cut off (and usually two or three more cloves cut in half) to plug the roast (Top Round – about 2.5 lb.) – about an inch apart all over the roast (which is coated with Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning). Then I wrap the entire roast in bacon – preferably Beeler’s Garlic Pepper Bacon (which I couldn’t find, so I picked up some pepper bacon from Tails & Trotters at the PSU Farmers Market) – and put it in a roasting pan with a rack. Roughly 30 minutes before the roast is done, move the rack to another pan and put the roast back in the oven.

Now, time to make the gravy. Take roughly 2 tablespoons of bacon fat and mix with the drippings. Then, add enough Tony Chachere’s Instand Roux Mix to create a paste. Then, mix in 2 cups of beef broth and bring to a boil. Lower heat, and add about a cup of red wine. I also add 2 tablespoons of Johnny’s Au Jus Concentrate and at least a tablespoon of tamari. Mince one of the roasted heads of garlic and mix into the gravy. Add about ¾ pound of crimini and/or wild mushrooms (I picked up ½ lb. of Porcinis the day before at the Farmers Market) and cook for another fifteen minutes.

You kind find my Sautéed Spinach recipe here.

• • • • • • • • • •

To drink, I went with a bottle of the Undercurrent from Upright Brewing.

