Grilled Calamari, Grilled Vegetables with Tzatziki and Israeli Couscous with Black Trumpet Mushrooms

Grilled Calamari:

I found this recipe at Food52. You can find it here. I ended up using Aleppo since I only had sweet paprika versus smoked – which the recipe calls for. I also did not use skewers since I did not have any tentacles and left the bodies whole. 

Grilled Vegetables with Tzatziki:

This recipe is from Hassan M’Souli’s Moroccan Modern cookbook. In his version, he has you make the harissa and tzatziki from scratch. I’ve also left out the leeks, snow peas, sweet potato and zucchini – since I’m only cooking for two. I did add some garlic, since I thought it could use it.

2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp cilantro, de-stemmed & chopped
1 tbsp harissa
2 cloves of garlic, minced
juice from ½ lemon
1 medium eggplant
1 medium sweet potato
1 red bell pepper
1 yellow bell pepper
1 bunch of asparagus
½ cup of tzaziki sauce

Make the marinade by mixing the first five ingredients together in a non-reactive bowl.

Then wash all of the vegetables. Quarter the bell peppers and de-seed them. Slice the eggp/ant and sweet potato into 1/2 inch slices. Snap the hard ends of the asparagus. Mix in with marinade, and let sit for at least 15 minutes.

When done marinating, discard the marinade and grill the vegetables for 5 minutes per side. After platting, put a good dollup tzaziki on top.

Israeli Couscous with Black Trumpet Mushrooms:

This one is my own creation. I love black trumpet mushrooms. I buy them dried at the local farmer’s market.

½ cup chicken broth
½ cup water
¼ cup white wine
2 tbsp dried black trumpet mushrooms
1 cup of Israeli couscous
1 tbsp butter

Mix the broth water and white wine is a small saucepan. Chop the dried black trumpet mushrooms into small 1/4 inch pieces and stir into the small saucepan and let sit for 15 minutes. The mushrooms will absorb the mixture and increase in size. Bring to a boil and mix in the Israeli couscous. Simmer for 8 to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Mix in butter just before serving.

• • • • • • • • • •

As to what to drink, I decided to go with a bottle of the Ferme De La’ Ville Provision from Block 15.

