Honey Roasted Pork Tenderloin, String Beans and Mémère’s Mac & Cheese

Honey Roasted Pork Tenderloin:

This recipe is the reason why I started grilling. I tried replicating this recipe every imaginable way when I lived in apartments and lofts. It wasn’t until I got a gas grill that I got this to work.

1 Pork Tenderloin*
Lemon juice
Estilo Azteca Seasoning (I get this pre-made from a local bar-b-que joint, but Tony’s will do just fine).
Honey

* Pork Tenderloins are usually sold in pairs, but I usually get one big one – at least a pound by weight – unless I am cooking for more than two. Whenever possible, I buy Carlton Farms.

First, rinse the Pork Tenderloin in the sink with cold water and then cover with lemon juice (the stuff in the little lemon shaped squeazy bottle works just fine). Then, season liberally with your seasoning.

Grill at 400° for 25 minutes. Flip. Then grill for another 20 minutes. Turn off gas and put the meat in a roasting pan with a rack, and put back on the grill. Coat heavily with the honey. Close cover, and let it rest for five minutes. Slice and serve.

String Beans:

¾ lb string beans (a.k.a. “haricot vert”), ends trimmed / removed.
2 tsp butter
1 tsp bacon fat
1 large shallot, finely chopped – yield roughly 3 tbsp
½ cup white wine
Sea salt
Fresh cracked black pepper

Melt the butter and bacon fat in a sauce pan on medium-high heat. Sautée shallots until fragrant. Pour in white wine, then add in beans and cook for about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and then let simmer for 10 minutes.

Mémère’s Mac & Cheese:

Large elbow macaroni
1 lb sharp cheddar cheese, grated
½ lb Emmentaler, grated
1 tbsp butter
Tony Chachere’s Original Creole Seasoning
1 cup whole milk
1 egg

This is my grandmother’s – my Mémère’s – recipe that I have tweaked a little.

First, grate all of the cheese and mix well in a large bowl. Then, prepare the macaroni as per the instructions on the bag / box. Strain in a colander, and rinse with cold water. Then, grease a 9 x 9 Pyrex baking dish with the butter. Put down a layer of cooked macaroni, then season the noodles with Tony’s, then a layer of cheese. Repeat two more times, and that should bring the layers to the top of the baking dish.

Next, scald the milk… Now, I have no idea what that means. I remember my grandmother using a double boiler. What I do, is put the milk in a small sauce pan on high heat and watch for a layer of skin to form on the top of the milk – just before it starts to boil. Take the pan off of the heat, and mix in the egg. Then, pour the egg-milk mixture over the baking pan with the macaroni and cheese. Throw into a 350° oven for at least 35 minutes. I like to let it go until the cheese on top starts to get brown and crunchy. Usually about 40 to 45 minutes, depending on your oven.

• • • • • • • • • •

I went with a bottle of Rebecca’s Divine Wit by Captured by Porches to drink with dinner.

