Bulgogi Skirt Steak and Thai Salad

This recipe was inspired by one of my favorite Thai dishes – Neua Naam Tok (เนื้อย่างน้ำตก). But sometime ago, I decided to switch out the Flank Steak with Korean Bulgogi (불고기) – which I could get pre-made from Trader Joe’s. After one particularly gristly batch, I decided to start marinating the meat myself and trying different cuts of meat. Usually, I prepare this with a Hanger Steak – but they were out at the butcher counter this week. So, I decided to try a Skirt Steak instead.

Bulgogi Skirt Steak:

The Bulgogi recipe I use is from Irwin Gelber’s Asian Cooking, but I have changed it a bit over the years…

4 to 5 cloves of garlic
A thumb-size piece of ginger, peeled and chopped
2 Thai chili peppers with seeds
10 oz. bottle of tamari
¼ cup of sesame oil
¼ cup of brown sugar
1 tsp of ground white pepper
1 tbsp of toasted sesame seeds, ground.
½ cup of thinly sliced green onions – green parts only
1 to 2 lb. of beef – Hanger Steak or Skirt Steak

Throw the garlic, ginger and Thai chili peppers into a food processor and chop fine. Add the tamari, sesame oil, brown sugar, white pepper and toasted sesame seeds and mix well. Pour mixture in a non-reactive container with a sealable lid and stir in the green onions. Add meat and marinate up to 6 or 7 hours, turning occasionally.

Grill on high heat, turning once. Roughly 4 to 5 minutes a side.

The Thai Salad:

A head of red butter lettuce.
½ of a hothouse cucumber, peeled and sliced thin.
1 small red onion, julienne
A handful of carrots, julienne
¼ cup of mint
¼ cup of cilantro

For the dressing, I use Corinne Trang’s Asian Coleslaw recipe from her “The Asian Grill” cookbook.

1 large clove of garlic
2 Thai chili peppers, de-seeded.
⅓ cup of fish sauce
⅓ cup of lime juice
⅓ cup of brown sugar
1 tbsp of vegetable oil

Throw the garlic and Thai chili peppers into a food processor and chop fine. Add the remainder of the ingredients, and mix well.

• • • • • • • • • •

For the beer to serve with dinner, I decided to go with the Four from Upright Brewing.

